The village of
Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne

Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne (altitude: 364 m, population: 145) is situated in beautiful countryside close to the Doubs/Jura border, at the head of the Lison valley with encircling forested hills. Being some 300 m below the level of the surrounding plateau gives the village a generally favourable microclimate.

Local attractions include a spectacular waterfall and caverns at the source of the river Lison (just a short walk from the house), the Taillanderie museum of rural industry, cave systems and hiking and biking routes. There is something for everyone, from casual walkers to experienced rock-climbers and speleologists. Sporting equipment (especially climbing gear) can be rented from the Lison Accueil hostel.

Facts about Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne

  • Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne on Google Maps
  • Lison Accueil gîte (hostel) web site, a good place to learn about hiking, rock climbing and caving activities in and around Nans (in French)
  • Taillanderie museum of rural industry – well worth visiting! (in French)

Infrastructure, shopping, dining

Public transport is nonexistent here, so having a motor vehicle is essential. Nearest train stations: Mouchard, Frasne, Pontarlier.

The water supply is safe for drinking – no need to buy bottled.

The village restaurant is «Chez Roméo et Patricia» (recommended!), or you can try the Auberge du Pont du Diable just up the hill in Crouzet-Migette.

A dairy store across the road from the village square sells excellent Comté, Morbier and other local cheeses, regional specialities – mainly sweet or alcoholic – as well as bread (baguettes only), eggs and untreated cow’s milk; experience shows that it keeps, refrigerated, for several days. Only sterilised (UHT) milk is available at the small supermarkets in Amancey and Levier; for pasteurised milk you must go to Salins-les-Bains.

A baker’s van passes through the village six days a week at around 9-10 a.m. (listen for the sound of his horn on the road outside). On Saturday afternoons in summer there is often an organic fruit & vegetable market on the dairy store forecourt.

There is a mailbox (collections every weekday morning) and payphones on the car park next to the mairie. Mobile phone reception is fairly good.

The nearest supermarket, pharmacy, bank, post office, etc. are all a 15-minute drive away in whichever direction: Salins-les-Bains, Amancey or Levier


The region

Quick links – more detail on the following page

Franche-Comté – tourist office website (in English) · Jura – tourist office website (in English) · Doubs – regional tourist information (in English) · Salins-les-Bains – tourist office website (in English), the thermal baths (in French) and the Saline Royale at Arc et Senans (in French and English) · Ornans – community website, local events, nice photo gallery; Gustave Courbet museum (both in French) · Louis Pasteur museums in Arbois and Dole (in French and English) · Besançon – city, tourist office and Citadelle museum websites

Activities

Quick links – more detail on the following page

Walking, mountain-biking and caving in the Jura · Rock climbing on the Via Ferrata (with binoculars, activity is easily observable from the house balcony) · Cross-country skiing – info on nearby prepared ski trails at Bolandoz, Levier, Pontarlier... nearest downhill ski resort at Métabief · Summer pleasure-trips on the Coni'fer steam railway between Hôpitaux Neufs und Fontaine Rouge · Cultural events in the Doubs/Jura border region on the community’s shared website

Le village de
Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne

Ceint de collines boisées, Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne (altitude : 364 m, 145 habitants) est niché dans un magnifique paysage, à la frontière entre Doubs et Jura, au commencement de la vallée du Lison. Protégé par un plateau de 300 m d’altitude, le village bénéficie d’un microclimat généralement favorable.

Parmi les centres d’intérêt locaux, on peut citer la cascade spectaculaire à la source du Lison (accessible à pied depuis la maison), le musée de la taillanderie (industrie rurale), des sites spéléologiques et des itinéraires de randonnée. Chacun pourra y trouver son bonheur, du marcheur occasionnel à l’alpiniste expérimenté, en passant par le spéléologue. L’équipement sportif (notamment pour l’escalade) peut être louée au gîte Lison Accueil au village.

À propos de Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne

  • Nans-sous-Sainte-Anne sur Google Maps
  • Site Web du gîte Les Repaires, qui fournit des renseignements détaillés sur les activités rando, escalade et spéléo à Nans et dans les environs
  • La taillanderie, musée de l’industrie agricole (il vaut la visite !)

Infrastructure locale, achats, restaurants

Les transports publics ne desservent pas le village, il est donc indispensable de disposer d’un véhicule. Les gares les plus proches sont celles de Mouchard, Frasne et Pontarlier.

L’eau du robinet est potable – inutile de l’acheter en bidon / bouteille.

Vous pouvez goûter à la cuisine locale au restaurant « Chez Roméo et Patricia » (recommandé), ou à « l’Auberge du Pont du Diable » juste en haut de la colline à Crouzet-Migette.

Une laiterie avec dépôt de pain en face de la place du village vend d’excellents Comté, Morbier et autres fromages locaux, des spécialités régionales (essentiellement sucrées ou alcoolisées) ainsi que des œufs et du lait cru de vache. Nous avons pu constater que le lait se conserve plusieurs jours au réfrigérateur. Les petits supermarchés d’Amancey et Levier vendent seulement du lait stérilisé, pour trouver du lait pasteurisé il faut aller à Salins-les-Bains.

Un boulanger itinérant passe six jours par semaine au village entre 9 et 10 h (vous l’entendrez klaxonner quand il s’arrête dans la rue près de la maison !). En été, un agriculteur vend ses fruits et légumes bio sur la place devant la fromagerie le samedi après-midi. D’autres stands y sont parfois présents.

Une boîte aux lettres (vidée chaque matin les jours ouvrés) et une cabine téléphonique se trouvent sur le parking situé à côté de la mairie. La couverture mobile est correcte.

Le supermarché, la pharmacie, la banque et le bureau de poste se trouvent tous à 15 minutes de route, quelle que soit la direction : Salins-les-Bains, Amancey ou Levier.


À propos de la région

Liens abrégés – plus de détails sur la page suivante

Franche-Comté – site Web de l’office de tourisme · Jura – site Web de l’office de tourisme · Doubs – informations touristiques régionales · Salins-les-Bains – site Web de l’office de tourisme, les thermes et la Saline Royale à Arc et Senans · Ornans – site Web de la commune, événements locaux, belle galerie de photos; musée Gustave Courbet · Musées Louis Pasteur à Arbois et Dole · Besançon – sites Web de la ville, de l’office de tourisme et du musée de la Citadelle

À propos des activités

Liens abrégés – plus de détails sur la page suivante

Randonnée, vélo et spéléologie dans le Jura · Escalade par la via ferrata (avec des jumelles, on peut observer les grimpeurs sur la falaise depuis le balcon) · Ski de fond – informations sur les pistes de ski de fond à proximité : Bolandoz, Levier, Pontarlier… Station de ski de piste la plus proche : Métabief · En été, voyage plaisir à bord du train touristique Coni'fer entre les Hôpitaux Neufs et Fontaine Rouge · Evénements culturels entre Doubs et Jura – Site web de la communauté